The Construction Industry Council (CIC) is the representative forum for the professional bodies, research organisations and specialist business associations in the construction industry.

APPG for Excellence in the Built Environment

The All Party Parliamentary Group for Excellence in the Built Environment was formed in July 2010. The group’s primary remit is to present a holistic and overarching view from all sectors involved in the planning, design, construction, management and maintenance of the built environment. The built environment encompasses all forms of building (housing, industrial, commercial, hospitals, schools, etc., and civil engineering infrastructure, both above and below ground and includes the managed landscapes between and around buildings. The APPG for the Excellence in the Built Environment seeks to work closely with other All-Party groups representing particular sectors of the built environment, such as architecture and planning, climate change, infrastructure, building, highway maintenance and gas safety. It is committed to investigate all current issues relating to the built environment and to engage parliamentarians and other serious commentators in looking at those major strategic issues affecting the built environment, which impact upon the lives of every constituent.